Renault looks like a Renault; Sauber looks like a BMW

Launchstravaganza! Despite being a Sunday, two teams have chosen to unveil their 2010 liveries (although only one on a 2010-spec car) as testing at Valencia gets underway today. First out of the blocks were Sauber, with a car that looks like an early ’90s back-of-the-grid effort, with nary a sponsor to be seen…

I was hoping for a plain black car from the team, but they’ve been perhaps mindful of the fact that Virgin are likely to roll out in black, and that there are far fewer white cars on the grid this season than last. Consquently, it’s a rather curious tweaking of the BMW-Sauber livery of last year – only with the blue sidepods replaced with black, additional black front and rear wings, and the usual gap in the “BMW style” nose pattern filled in to make a single block. All rather strange, but it’s a rather smart-looking car. Let’s hope they get some sponsors on there – rather than sticking with the drivers’ names on the engine cover in large type – before Bahrain, though.

Next we come to a rather more exciting proposition – albeit one that is similarly, and in a rather worrying trend for F1 in general, lacking in sponsor logos – and that’s the Renault:

Turns out the blurry picture I posted earlier in the week was the real deal, and despite the fact that it’s already dividing people, I love this. It’s bright, and it’s garish… but it’s also completely, undeniably, Renault. And those uniforms are cracking, as well. Having had the worst livery in F1 for two seasons (07-08) and a pretty weak effort last year as well, this is a huge step up, and I’d say it’s an early contender for best of ’10. Am I alone in this? What do you folks think?

9 Responses to Renault looks like a Renault; Sauber looks like a BMW

  1. Ned says:

    Renault- First of all, I’m actually a huge fan of the 2009 Renault livery, so believe it or not I can say I probably prefered the old livery. BUT that’s not to say I don’t love this one too- F1 has been crying out for a proper yellow livery since the demise of Jordan. I still don’t think that yellow, black and red should be together, but I can make an exception for Renault.

    Sauber- I’m hoping this will only be a preliminary livery. I was never a fan of the BMW livery so I don’t like this either, as it’s practically the same. The mainly black front end does look pretty cool though. Still I’m hoping that Sauber have some title sponsor lined up which will buy both the colour scheme and the team naming rights (like Virgin have done).

  2. .Kay says:

    I love that Renault, i just can’t stop looking at it. Favorite car of 2010 so far.
    The BMW-Sauber however [since Sauber announced today that they won’t remove BMW’s name from the team], my first reaction was that of disappointment. Looked too much like last year and i didn’t like it. I still don’t, but it might grow on me. It’s a bit too white though, especially when you look at it from the side, so a bit more black would be nice.

  3. J.S. says:

    I don’t like the Sauber, and I hope that it changes. I love the Renault livery, but I don’t really like the shape of the car. I think all in all the Ferrari is still the best thus far of the 2010 cars (not counting the Williams, which hasn’t been officially released yet.)

    By the way, how do you know there’s only one new car? If I am not mistaken, both of these are the new cars, the Renault R30 and the (BMW-)Sauber-Ferrari C29.

  4. Ned says:

    The Renault was supposed to be a new car, but it looks pretty identical to their old one. No one seems to know for sure, the team really could have explained it better.

    And is just me or is the fact that ‘Sauber’ is still called BMW Sauber just the most ridiculous thing ever?!? Peter Sauber reckons he doesn’t have time to come up with a new team name… all you have to do is take off BMW and call it Sauber. The busiest man in the world could find time to do that!

    • Ed says:

      You have to do a full application to all the other teams to change names.

      Maybe he is still hoping to find a title sponsor, so that he can just change names to — Sauber F1 Team.

      Also, I also love the Renault livery, easily the best of 2010 so far, i think.

  5. .Kay says:

    If you ask me, maybe BMW is set to return to the team in 2011, judging by how Sauber refuses to remove the BMW-part in the team.

  6. Seb Patrick says:

    J.S. – you’re right. I’d read that Renault were sticking the livery on last year’s car (and the similar nose made me think it was the case), but that is indeed the 2010 car they’ve rolled out.

  7. Tom says:

    I like the Sauber livery: very clean, very refined.
    My first reaction to the Renault is more mixed: the design looks a little crude. On the other hand its eye catching and looks ‘strong’.

  8. Aly says:

    The best livery in 2010 with Lotus and Virgin sharing a close second.

Leave a Reply

